Skip to main content

The Island of Dr. Libris


The Island of Dr. Libris

THE ISLAND OF DR. LIBRIS is a fast paced story about what happens when stories and our imaginations come to life. Twelve-year-old Billy Gillfoyle unknowingly becomes the test subject in Dr. Xiang Libris’ experiment, The Theta Project, and comes face to face with some of literature’s greatest characters.

THE ISLAND OF DR. LIBRIS is fast paced, compulsively readable and full of humor and adventure.

Billy and his mom are renting a lake cabin from Dr. Libris for the summer so that his parents can have some time apart and his mom can work on her mathematical dissertation. Without any television or video games at the cabin, Billy is forced to explore Dr. Libris’ extensive library. Of course, the locked bookcase grabs Billy’s attention right away and it doesn’t take him long to figure out the clue to open it. As soon as Billy starts reading about Hercules, he hears sounds of a fight out on the island. He doesn’t believe his ears, but when he ventures outside he can’t deny the truth --- he’s face to face with Hercules. It appears as if everything Billy reads comes to life on this mysterious island; soon it is populated by characters from THE THREE MUSKETEERS, TOM SAWYER, ROBIN HOOD and other stories. The characters begin interacting, which results in an interesting, humorous and unforgettable new story.

THE ISLAND OF DR. LIBRIS is fast paced, compulsively readable and full of humor and adventure. However, the ending is a bit abrupt and leaves many questions unanswered, such as what will happen to the characters from the stories now that they are on the island. To this end, author Chris Grabenstein leaves room for a sequel --- or several --- and I would definitely be interested in reading them.

Reviewed by Aimee Rogers on April 2, 2015

The Island of Dr. Libris
by Chris Grabenstein

  • Publication Date: March 24, 2015
  • Genres: Adventure, Fiction
  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
  • ISBN-10: 0385388446
  • ISBN-13: 9780385388443