Skip to main content

Jubilee

About the Book

Jubilee

Newbery Honor–winning author Patricia Reilly Giff writes a tender, timeless story about a girl who stopped speaking long ago, and how she finds her way back to her voice. For fans of LISTENING FOR LUCCA, FISH IN A TREE, THE RULES and MOCKINGBIRD.
 
Judith lives with her beloved aunt Cora and her faithful Dog on a beautiful island. Years ago, when her mother left, Judith stopped talking. Now she communicates entirely through gestures and taps, and by drawing cartoons, speaking only when she’s alone --- or with Dog.
 
This year, Judith faces a big change --- leaving her small, special classroom for a regular fifth-grade class. She likes her new teacher and finds a maybe-friend in a boy named Mason. But Jubilee’s wandering feet won’t stop until they find her mother. And now she discovers that her mother has moved back to the mainland, nearby. If Jubilee finds her, will her mother’s love be what she needs to speak again? 

Jubilee
by Patricia Reilly Giff