Skip to main content

Susan Wood


Susan Wood

Susan Wood is an award-winning author of books for young readers and adults. Susan is especially excited about her latest children's book, ESQUIVEL! Space-Age Sound Artist, a biography of colorful Mexican musician and stereo-sound pioneer Juan Garcia Esquivel, illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh. ESQUIVEL!, a Junior Library Guild Selection, is available in both English and Spanish editions. Learn more at, featuring fun and fascinating videos, a free downloadable educator's guide, and much more.

Formerly writing as Susan VanHecke, Susan Wood is the author of these other children's titles:UNDER THE FREEDOM TREE; RAGIIN' JAZZIN' ROCKIN': A History of American Musical Instrument Makers; ROCK 'N' ROLL SOLDIER, cowritten with Dean Ellis Kohler, foreword by Graham Nash; and AN APPLE PIE FOR DINNER.

For adults, Susan is the author of RACE WITH THE DEVIL: The Gene Vincent Story; ROADWORK: Rock & Roll Turned Inside Out (Raising Hell on the Rock 'n' Roll Highway in the UK), cowritten with Tom Wright, foreword by Pete Townshend; and THREE STEPS TO HEAVEN: The Eddie Cochran Story, cowritten with Bobby Cochran.

Learn more about Susan and her books at

Susan Wood

Books by Susan Wood

by Susan Wood and Duncan Tonatiuh - Children's, Children's 6-9, Music, Picture, Youth Fiction

Juan Garcia Esquivel was born in Mexico and grew up to the sounds of mariachi bands. He loved music and became a musical explorer. Defying convention, he created music that made people laugh and planted images in their minds. Juan's space-age lounge music --- popular in the fifties and sixties --- has found a new generation of listeners. And Duncan Tonatiuh's fresh and quirky illustrations bring Esquivel's spirit to life.