Skip to main content

Madeleine L'Engle


Madeleine L'Engle

Madeleine L’Engle was born on November 29, 1918, and grew up in New York City, Switzerland, South Carolina, and Massachusetts. After graduating cum laude from Smith College in 1941, she returned to New York to work in the theater. While touring with Eva Le Gallienne and Joseph Schildkraut in Uncle Harry, Ms. L’Engle wrote her first book, THE SMALL RAIN (originally published in 1945 and reissued in 1984). She met her future husband, Hugh Franklin, when they both appeared in The Cherry Orchard with Miss Le Gallienne.

When Hugh Franklin temporarily retired from the theater, they moved their family to western Connecticut and opened a general store. Madeleine said, “A lot of what I learned in our store was of immense value to a writer...I have already published one book written directly out of our life there. It’s called MEET THE AUSTINS, but it could easily be called ‘Meet the Franklins!’” The Austin series continues with five additional books, including A RING OF ENDLESS LIGHTS (1980), a Newbery Honor Book.

After ten years in Connecticut, the Franklins moved to New York City. Hugh Franklin returned to the theater and became particularly well known for his role as Dr. Charles Tyler in the television series "All My Children." Mr. Franklin died in 1986.

Ms. L’Engle’s science fantasy classic A WRINKLE IN TIME was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1963. Four companion novels, A WIND IN THE DOOR (1973), A SWIFTLY TILTING PLANET (1978), MANY WATERS (1986), and AN ACCEPTABLE TIME (1989) complete what has come to be known as the Wrinkle in Time Quintet.

Ms. L’Engle wrote dozens of books for both children and adults, including the Crosswicks Journals, which compromised four books: A CIRCLE OF QUIET (1972), THE SUMMER OF THE GREAT-GRANDMOTHER (1974), THE IRRATIONAL SEASON (1977), and TWOPART INVENTION (1988). Among other awards, she received the National Humanities Medal, which honors individuals whose work has deepened the nation’s understanding of the humanities? the ALAN Award for Outstanding Contribution to Adolescent Literature from the National Council of Teachers of English? and the Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Library Association. Ms. L’Engle lectured nationally and internationally, and for many years she was the librarian and writerinresidence at the Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine.

In Spring 2007, Square Fish reissued the Wrinkle in Time Quintet in new digest and rack editions. A new book for young adults, THE JOYS OF LOVE, is forthcoming from FSG in Spring 2008.

Ms. L’Engle passed away on September 6, 2007.

Madeleine L'Engle

Books by Madeleine L'Engle

Written by Madeleine L'Engle, Adapted and Illustrated by Hope Larson - Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Science Fiction

The world already knows Meg and Charles Wallace Murry, Calvin O'Keefe, and the three Mrs --- Who, Whatsit, and Which --- the memorable and wonderful characters who fight off a dark force and save our universe. But in 50 years of publication, the book has never been illustrated. Now, Hope Larson takes the classic story to a new level with her vividly imagined interpretations of tessering and favorite characters like the Happy Medium and Aunt Beast.

by Madeleine L'Engle - Children's 10+, Classics, Science Fiction
A flash of lightning, quivering ground, and, instead of her grandparents' farm, Polly sees mist and jagged mountains --- and coming toward her, a group of young men carrying spears.
Why has a time gate opened and dropped Polly into a world that existed 3,000 years ago? Will she be able to get back to the present before the time gate closes --- and leaves her to face a group of people who believe in human sacrifice?
by Madeleine L'Engle

Sandy and Dennys have always been the normal, run-of-the-mill ones in the extraodinary Murry family. They garden, make an occasional A in school, and play baseball. Nothing especially interesting has happened to the twins until they accidentally interrupt their father's experiment.

by Madeleine L'Engle

Fifteen-year-old Charles Wallace and the unicorn Gaudior undertake a perilous journey through time in a desperate attempt to stop the destruction of the world by the mad dictator Madog Branzillo. They are not alone in their quest. Charles Wallace's sister, Meg--grown and expecting her first child, but still able to enter her brother's thoughts and emotions by "kything"--goes with him in spirit. Charles Wallace must face the ultimate test of his faith and his will as he is sent within four people from another time, there to search for a way to avert the tragedy threatening them all.

by Madeleine L'Engle

It is November. When Meg comes home from school, Charles Wallace tells her he saw dragons in the twin’s vegetable garden.  That night Meg, Calvin and C.W. go to the vegetable garden to meet the Teacher (Blajeny) who explains that what they are seeing isn’t a dragon at all, but a cherubim named Proginoskes.  It turns out that C.W. is ill and that  Blajeny and Proginoskes are there to make him well –- by making him well, they will keep the balance of the universe in check and save it from the evil Echthros.  

by Madeleine L'Engle - Fantasy
It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. "Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I'll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract."