Skip to main content

Diana Peterfreund


Diana Peterfreund

Diana Peterfreund has published eight novels for adults and teens, including the four-book Secret Society Girl series (Bantam Dell), the “killer unicorn novels” RAMPANT and ASCENDANT (Harper Teen), and FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS, a post-apocalyptic retelling of Jane Austen’s PERSUASION. In addition, she’s written several critically acclaimed short stories and a variety of non-fiction essays about popular children’s literature. Diana lives in Washington D.C., with her family.

Diana Peterfreund

Books by Diana Peterfreund

by Diana Peterfreund - Children's, Children's 8-12, Fiction, Science Fiction

Gillian Seagret thought she knew everything about the secrets of Omega City. Now Gillian’s father has been taken captive, and she and her friends are trapped in the Shepherds’ hidden base. New clues to Underberg’s past lead them back into an utterly transformed Omega City and farther than they even imagined, into outer space. There, Gillian, Eric, Savannah and Howard discover the Shepherds’ most precious secret, and they realize there’s more at stake than simply their family and Underberg’s legacy -- they also have to save the world.

by Diana Peterfreund - Adventure, Children's 8-12, Fiction, Friendship
Gillian Seagret is not having a great summer. Her mother’s come back with plans to move Gillian and her brother across the country, and her father is away promoting his new book on Omega City --- without her! Though Gillian and her friends were the ones to find the lost doomsday bunker, no one seems to care about their thoughts on the whereabouts of its creator, Dr. Underberg, or learning the truth about the Shepherds, a mysterious group that will stop at nothing to keep Underberg --- and Omega City --- a secret.
by Diana Peterfreund - Adventure, Mystery, Science Fiction

Gillian Seagret discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg's diary in her father's mess of an office --- a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg's greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her younger brother, her best friend, and their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off on a journey into the ruins of Omega City. But they aren't alone inside its dark and flooded halls. For while Gillian wants to save her dad's reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg's secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried...forever.

by Diana Peterfreund - Dystopian, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult 13+

Since Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, Kai, the world has changed. Elliot's estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth --- an almost unrecognizable Kai. She soon discovers that her childhood friend carries a secret that could change their world...or bring it to its knees.