Skip to main content

Cammie McGovern


Cammie McGovern

Cammie McGovern is the author of the much-acclaimed YA novel SAY WHAT YOU WILL, published in 2014. A STEP TOWARD FALLING, another YA novel featuring characters with disabilities, is coming out in October, 2015. JUST MY LUCK, for middle-grade readers, is coming out in February 2016. She has also written three adult novels, THE ART OG SEEING, EYE CONTACT, and NEIGHBORHOOD WATCH and is one of the proud founder of Whole Children/Milestones, a resource center for children and young adults with disabilities and their families. She lives in Amherst, MA, with her husband and three sons, the oldest of whom is autistic.

Cammie McGovern

Books by Cammie McGovern

by Cammie McGovern - Animals , Children's 8-12, Family, Family Life, Fiction, Friendship

Chester has always wanted to become a service dog. When he fails his certification test, though, it seems like that dream will never come true --- until a family adopts him. They want him to be a companion for their ten-year-old son, Gus, who has autism. But Gus acts so differently than anyone Chester has ever met. He never wants to pet Chester, and sometimes he doesn’t even want Chester in the room. Chester’s not sure how to help Gus since this isn’t exactly the job he trained for --- but he’s determined to figure it out. Because after all, Gus is now his person.

by Cammie McGovern - Children's, Children's 8-12, Family Life

Fourth grade is not going at all how Benny Barrows hoped. He hasn't found a new best friend. He's still not a great bike rider --- even though his brother George, who's autistic, can do tricks. And worst of all, he worries his dad's recent accident might be all his fault. Benny tries to take his mom's advice and focus on helping others but he doesn't know how he and his family will overcome all the bad luck that life seems to have thrown their way.